January – Essentials To Get Me Through

January – Essentials To Get Me Through

FSCN0656

January is that horrid month. You’re skint from Christmas festivities and pay day seems miles away, have eaten way too many mince pies, no amount of layering warms you up, and your skin is in need of some real TLC.

Like a lot of people, January makes me feel blue sometimes. I need my survival essentials.

Liz Earle Instant Boost Skin Tonic
This was a Christmas gift. It came as part of a pack which included the Hot Cloth Cleansing Polish and 2 muslin cloths.

DSCN0640My love for Liz Earle products grows every day. This tonic along with the polish has made my problem skin so much clearer. It feels like my pores are thoroughly cleansed, and there is no redness. The smell is amazing and I can see my skin seems brighter since I have been using it. The first time I used it was when I saw Zoella using it all those years ago and I’ve used it ever since!

No7 Beautiful Skin Day Cream
This cream is for normal/oily skin, is SPF 15 and is hypo-allergenic. I specifically chose this moisturiser because it is light yet really hydrates my skin – essential for this cold weather. Does anybody else find their skin is so dry during the Winter Months? I also absolutely adore the smell of this cream, it is mild and fresh, and if they bottled the smell I would be wearing it in a heartbeat!

Tangle Teezer
I got my tangle teezer for Christmas after wanting one for SO. LONG. I’m pretty late on the old tangle teezer bandwagon, but have loved them since discovering one of my favourite youtubers Gabby has a larger than life love for them too. They really are amazing. When I first used it I was worried that it’s tiny bristles would snap in my thick hair but they get rid of all my knots and my hair feels soooo soft after using it. It is the perfect size to fit in your handbag, and you can get every colour imaginable. They also do a compact teezer which is even smaller to fit in your bag, and that one has a cover to protect the bristles. Highly recommend!

Next mini perfumes
I got two of these for Christmas and I love them both! I got Cashmere from my Christmas blogger swap Rachel in my little gift box and I carry it around with me in my handbag! It has a subtle powdery musk scent and is also slightly floral. I like the delicate scent and you could wear this day or night.
I got Femme from my Mum, and I actually love this for nights out or dinner with friends. It has a slightly oriental fragrance and is lovely and fruity. I would recommend both to you all, I know perfume is very personal so go to Next and smell them!

Options Hot Chocolate Mint
The Wintery months call for lots of hot drinks, and during my hunt for low fat hot chocolates to fit in with Slimming World I have rediscovered my love for Options Hot Chocolate Mint! I like all the flavours but this one is my ultimate favourite. It really fills the spot and makes me feel all yummy and warm inside 🙂

Soap and Glory Sexy Mother Pucker Gloss Crayons
I got this set for Christmas and live with at least one of these in my handbag at all times. It contains three crayons, in ‘Fuchsia-ristic’, ‘bashful’ and ‘raplumzel’. Out of the three, I would say bashful is my favourite as it is more of a pinky nude, and can be worn with most things. That’s not to say I don’t like the others! I looove the plum colour of raplumzel and fuchsia-ristic is very bright but still quite subtle. These crayons are not too pigmented, so nice to wear through the day, I would probably add a bit of lippy to them if I were to wear them at night, just to bring the colour out a little more.
Side note: they smell INCREDIBLE.

Crabtree and Evelyn Ultra-moisturising hand therapy in Avocado, olive and basil.
This hand cream is amazing. I went into Crabtree and Evelyn to buy a gift for my boss, and came out with this. After trying the sample I was desparate to buy it and I’m so glad I did. This is a staple in my handbag. Without being too oily, my hands feel soft and moisturized, and working with children I constantly wash my hands so need a rich moisturizer to stop my hands cracking. Even the smell indicates this moisturizer is of a good quality.

These lovely things have pulled me through January and ensured I don’t constantly feel January blues. Let me know your January staples, and if you use anything similar!

Speak soon,

Sophie xxx

DSCN0550

Leave a Reply

