Tea Day Tuesday!

Tea Day Tuesday!

10561790_10154508855820232_6409726612440598182_n

Hello again!

Wow hasn’t that week gone quick! It’s time for another Tea day Tuesday woohoo!

This week I decided to try an Earl Grey. This particular Earl Grey I bought from a lovely little stall at the King’s Road Market in London during a visit earlier in the year. The shop is called Yumchaa, they have a website so give them a little look here. I spent ages at the stall smelling all the different types of tea and fell in love with each and every one, but this one really stood out to me.

DSCN0555

The tea is called ‘Earl Grey Blue Star’, and it has bergamot, cornflowers, blue mallow flowers and keemun* black tea. I brewed it for roughly two minutes, and although some tea lovers like a splash of milk in their early grey, I decided to have it without, purely to get the most out of the flavours.

*Keemun black tea is a hugely popular tea from the Eastern province of Anhui, a traditional mellow Chinese tea.

DSCN0558 DSCN0559

Before pouring the water in I had to take a little picture of the tea itself; the little blue flowers and the little buds are so bright and it looks magical before it’s even brewed!

Once brewed, I have to admit I took some time to breathe in the beautiful scents; I’d had a stressful drive back from work and for some reason the aromatic flowery smells just relaxed me. It has a sweet fruity scent; you can really pick out the citrus smell, and the flowery vibes come out in little pockets, it’s lovely. Just by the smell, it’s a great Autumnal tea.

So how does it taste?
I can really taste the bergamot, it’s mildly flowery but it isn’t over powering. I got a very slight nutty hint, which resides from the keemun tea. I would say another minute to brew wouldn’t do any harm and it might bring out a little more flavour. Although this tea has enough body to have a splash of milk, I prefer it without.

To say I was a tad stressed when I arrived home, you wouldn’t know after I’d finished my tea. I immediately felt relaxed and could feel the tension leaving my body with every sip. They say Earl Grey is a happy tea; a tea that brings out your best mood. I think they’re right, whoever they are.

To all the tea lovers out there:

Have you tried this tea? What did you think?

What is your favourite Autumnal tea?

See you next week ❤

DSCN0542

Sophie xxx

Leave a Reply

